Get a Library Card
To get a Library Card with the Washington County Public Library, you must reside at a permanent address within Washington County or the surrounding area. To obtain a card, you must supply a driver’s license or other valid form of photo identification that contains a current address. If the address printed on the identification is not current, proof of current address must be provided. Acceptable items that may be used for proof of address may include: utility receipt, official rent receipt, copy of a current lease, voter registration card, etc.
A parent/guardian ID is required for children to receive a card. The signing parent/guardian will be considered responsible for all materials borrowed on that child’s card.
A library card is required to borrow materials and use the computers, so be sure you bring it with you every time you visit.
Your library card with the Washington County Public Library is valid with only the Jonesborough Library and the Gray Branch Library. Items checked out with a WCPL card can be returned at either location.
Replacement cards are available for a small fee of $2.00.
Patrons are asked to present their card at the circulation desk at the time of checkout. New patrons may check out five items during the first two weeks they have their card. After items have been returned, the limit is raised to a forty-five item maximum checkout limit. Items limited to in-house use, such as reference books, microforms, newspapers, current issue periodicals, Genealogy Area materials, and others so designated, do not circulate (i.e., cannot be checked out).
➣ Loan Periods
Most books, periodicals, audio-books and music CDs can be checked out for two weeks (14 days).
DVDs or materials placed on reserve for specific classes in the schools can be checked out for one week (7 days).
Items on inter-library loan have loan periods set by the lending library.
Most items may be renewed for an additional two-week period, twice, if there is not a waiting list on the title.
Items that may not be renewed are DVDs, items with waiting lists, and materials placed on reserve for specific classes in the schools.
Items may be renewed in person, by phone, or online. Overdue items may be renewed, but patrons are responsible for fines accrued between the original due date and the date of renewal or return.
➣ Overdue Materials
All materials will be considered overdue if they have not been returned or renewed on the due date by the closing time of the library. Materials will continue to accrue a fine until they are returned. See “Fines and Fees” for rates.
➣ Number of Items Loaned
First time borrowers are limited to five (5) items on their first check-out. Two (2) of these items may be DVDs or audio-books.
When these items are returned, number increases to forty-five (45) items, of which five (5) of those items may be DVDs or four (4) audio-books.
➣ Outside Book Drops
Return boxes are available outside of the library for the convenience of returning library materials at any time. Use of the drop-boxes does not cancel overdue fines.
There are two types of drop-boxes. One is for printed materials (i.e. books and magazines) and one is for video and audio materials (i.e. DVDs and audiobooks). Items must be returned in the appropriate corresponding return box, as materials can become damaged when placed in the wrong drop. A fine of $5.00 per item will be assessed for items that are returned in the wrong drop-box. This fee will be assessed in addition to fees for repair and/or replacement of damaged materials.
Fines and Fees
Patrons are responsible for all materials checked out, and are liable for any accrued overdues, damages or loss of library materials.
Most overdue materials accrue a fine at the rate of $0.15 per day per item. DVDs accrue a fine at the rate of $1.00 per day per DVD. However, the maximum fine for each item will not exceed $5.00.
➣ Lost or Damaged Materials
Patrons are responsible for all materials checked out, and are liable for the loss of, or damages to, library materials. Patrons with items that can be repaired will be assessed a fine to recover the cost of the repairs. Patrons with lost items or those damaged beyond repair must pay the original cost of the item, plus a $10.00 processing fee.
In the case of a lost item, if it is found within six months and is in good condition, a refund in the form of a check from Washington County Government of the original cost of the item will be issued and mailed to the patron upon proof of payment. The $10.00 processing fee will not be refunded.
Fines and fees for lost or damaged Inter-Library Loan materials are set by the loaning library.